The Council of Scholars advises USCHS staff on the selection of scholars for presentations in “Scholars Series” webinars and Congressional Briefings, writings in The Capitol Dome, development of new educational features of the USCHS website, and other USCHS activities. Leading academics in fields related to the USCHS mission including American history, political history, art history, architecture, political science, public policy, economics, and law are eligible to serve on the Council of Scholars.


Felicia A. Bell, PhD
Director of Public Engagement, “Our Shared Future: Reckoning with Our Racial Past,” Smithsonian Institution

Fergus Bordewich
Author and Historian

Joanne B. Freeman, PhD
Class of 1954 Professor of American History and of American Studies, Yale University

Gerald Gamm, PhD
Professor of Political Science and History, University of Rochester

Martha S. Jones, PhD, JD
Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor and Professor of History, Johns Hopkins University

Colleen J. Shogan, PhD
Director of the David Rubenstein Center for White House History, White House Historical Association

James Thurber, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Government, American University

Barbara Wolanin, PhD
Curator Emerita, Architect of the Capitol

Ex Officio:
Michele Cohen, PhD
Curator, Architect of the Capitol

You must be logged in to post a comment.