“100 Years of Women Voting” Symposium

USCHS is proud to announce the program lineup for its 2020 Annual Symposium, 100 Years of Women Voting.

Distinguished speakers will discuss the impact of women in American government and public life over the last century. Reimagined as a virtual series, the rescheduled program will cover all of the originally planned topics over six weekly webinars.

All sessions will be free and open to the public; registration will be required. More details will be posted soon here and our social media channels.

100 Years of Women Voting is co-sponsored by the Kluge Center at the Library of Congress and made possible by the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission.


100 Years of Women Voting: Session Schedule

August 27


Christina Wolbrecht

Professor of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame; Director of the Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy; C. Robert and Margaret Hanley Family Director of the Washington Program



September 3
“Race and Gender in Politics: The Last 100 Years”

(L-R, top to bottom): Liette Gidlow, Rep. Marcia Fudge, Andra Gillespie, Cathleen Cahill

Liette Gidlow
Harvard University and Wayne State University

Rep. Marcia Fudge
U.S. House of Representatives, OH-11

Andra Gillespie
Emory University

Cathleen Cahill
Penn State




September 10
“Diverse Voices from the Suffrage Movement”

(L-R, top to bottom): Jacqueline Jones Royster, Nancy Bird-Soto, Lori Harrison-Kahan, Elizabeth Novara

Jacqueline Jones Royster
Georgia Tech

Nancy Bird-Soto
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Lori Harrison-Kahan
Boston College

Elizabeth Novara
University of Maryland




September 17
“Women in Leadership”

(L-R): Jane Campbell, Sen. Mary Landrieu, Michele Swers

Jane Campbell
U.S. Capitol Historical Society

Sen. Mary Landrieu
Van Ness Feldman, LLP; U.S. Senate, LA, 1997-2015

Michele Swers
Georgetown University


September 24
“Gender and Political Participation”

(L-R, top to bottom): Colleen Shogan, Bettye Collier-Thomas, Kay Schlozman, Catherine Wineinger

Colleen Shogan
David M. Rubenstein National Center for White House History

Bettye Collier-Thomas
Temple University

Kay Schlozman
Boston College

Catherine Wineinger
Western Washington University



October 1



Martha Jones
Johns Hopkins University



We will update this page with more details and registration information.