Congressman John Lewis to receive 2014 Freedom Award

Congressman John Lewis to Receive U.S. Capitol Historical Society’s 2014 Freedom Award

The U.S. Capitol Historical Society annually recognizes individuals that have advanced greater public understanding and appreciation for freedom as represented by the U.S. Capitol and Congress. The Society initiated its Freedom Award on September 17, 1993, the eve of the 200th anniversary of the laying of the U.S. Capitol Cornerstone by George Washington in 1793. It is named for the statue that graces the Capitol’s dome.

Congressman John Lewis

The Society will present the 2014 Freedom Award to Congressman John Lewis in recognition of his outstanding contributions to revitalizing America’s democratic system. The presentation will be held on Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at 6:00 PM in National Statuary Hall of the U.S. Capitol.

The Hon. Ron Sarasin, USCHS president, commented: “Congressman Lewis’ lifelong work in protecting human rights and securing civil liberties has transformed our nation and left an enduring message for future generations. He truly is the embodiment of the Freedom Award. This year, as we celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, his acceptance of the Freedom Award will be all the more meaningful.”

Past recipients of the Freedom Award include: The Hon. William S. Cohen and The Hon. Norman Mineta; filmmaker/historian Ken Burns; The Deans of Congress: Senator Daniel Inouye and Representative John Dingell; former Senator Howard Baker Jr., presented by Senator Robert Byrd; and former House Speaker Tom Foley, presented by Speaker Nancy Pelosi.

Admission to the Freedom Award presentation is by invitation only to USCHS members at the Cornerstone Level and above and Members of Congress.

The program can be viewed on the CSPAN website.

Click here to learn more about membership levels and how to join or call the Membership Department at 202-543-8919 to check your current membership.


The United States Capitol Historical Society, founded in 1962 and chartered by Congress in 1978, is a non-partisan, non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization charged with educating the public on the rich heritage of the Capitol building and the United States Congress.